• Google Summer of Code – 2017. Proposals are accepted form March 20 – April 3

  • CODE CRAFT 2017- The Hunt for Sri Lanka’s most secure. Register at www.codecraft.lk

  • New academic year 2015/2016 begins on 02-05-2017

  • End of course examination for the academic year 2014/2015 commence on 13-03-2017



Established in early 1991 in the Faculty of Science introducing Computer Science as a subject by the untiring effort of Prof K. Kunaratnam, Senior Professor of Physics with the rational support of Prof S. Mageswaran, Senior Professor of Chemistry, and a few other faculty members. Professor K. Kunaratnam was appointed as the first Head of the Department. A Senior Lecturer, Mr. S. Kanaganathan, and two Assistant Lecturers Mr. S Mahesan and Mr. M. Umasuthan were transferred to the Department from the Department of Mathematics and Statistics with the authentic co-operation of the then Head of the Department who kindly agreed to transfer these staff members. ....